This is the "Home" page of the "Exploring the Middle Ages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Exploring the Middle Ages  

Last Updated: Jan 26, 2012 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=298158 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference books in the Edith Hamilton Library

The Library has lots of great reference books for you to use for this paper. To find more, check the online catalog.  If you can't find a reference book on your topic, remember to BROADEN your search. For example, to find a reference book on universities, you might have to search under the Middle Ages.

 

The Luttrell psalter; two plates in colour and one hundred and eighty-three in monochrome from the Additional manuscript 42130 in the British Museum;    
   [ Book ]   Ref 096.1 L   
  Published 1932
 
 
The Très riches heures of Jean, Duke of Berry. Musée Condé, Chantilly.    
   [ Book ]   Ref 096.1 M    Introd. and legends by Jean Longnon and Raymond Cazelles. Pref. by Millard Meiss. [Translated from the French by Victoria Benedict]
  Published 1969
 
 
Weapons & warfare. Volume 1, Ancient and medieval weapons and warfare (to 1500)    
   [ Book ]   Ref 623.4 W v.1    editor, John Powell ; managing editor, Christina J. Moose.
  Published 2002
 
 
The dictionary of art    
   [ Book ]   Ref 703 D    editor, Jane Turner.
  Published 1996
 

Check the index for cathdrals, castles, and illuminated manuscripts.

 

 
Dictionary of the Middle Ages,    
   [ Book ]   Ref 909.07 D    Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief.
  Published 1982
 
 
The Middle Ages    
   [ Book ]   Ref 909.07 M v.1    William Chester Jordan, editor in chief for the American Council of Learned Societies.
  Published 1996
 
 
Dictionary of saints    
   [ Book ]   Ref 920 D    Delaney, John J.
  Published 1980
 
 
Military and religious life in the Middle Ages and the period of the Renaissance.    
   [ Book ]   Ref 940.1 L    Lacroix, Paul.
  Published 1900
 
 

Books on reserve in the Edith Hamilton Library

The following books are on reserve in the Edith Hamilton Library.  To find more, search the online catalog under your topic.  Remember that you might have to BROADEN your topic.

Bibliography

Sorted by Call Number / Author

272.2B

 

355.009 F

Bede, The Ecclesiastical History of the English People Check here for Saint Hilda or Hild

 

France, John. Western warfare in the age of the Crusades, 1000-1300. Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell University Press, 1999.

378.09 L

Leff, Gordon. Paris and Oxford universities in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. New York : Wiley, 1968.

378.1 R

Ross, Murray G. The universities : the anatomy of academe. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1976.

378.155 G

Grant, Michael 1914-. Cambridge. London, England : Mowbrays, 1969.

378.45 G

Grendler, Paul F. The universities of the Italian Renaissance. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2002.
"Italian Renaissance universities were Europe's intellectual leaders in humanistic studies, law, medicine, philosophy, and science. Employing some of the foremost scholars of the time - including Pietro Pomponazzi, Andreas Vesalius, and Galileo Galilei - the Italian Renaissance university was the prototype of today's research university. This is the first book in any language to offer a comprehensive study of this most influential institution."--BOOK JACKET.

399 T

Tunis, Edwin, 1897-. Weapons, : a pictorial history,. [1st ed.]. Cleveland, : World Pub. Co., [1954].
Describes in text and pictures weapons used through the ages, from the stones of prehistoric man to the bombs of modern times.

723.5 T

Temko, Allan. Notre-Dame of Paris. New York, : Viking Press, 1955.

726 B

Briggs, Martin S. (Martin Shaw), b. 1882. Cathedral architecture. London : Pitkin Pictorials, c1972s.

726.6 K

King, Ross. Brunelleschi's dome : how a Renaissance genius reinvented architecture. New York : Walker & Co., 2000.

726.6 S

Simson, Otto Georg von, 1912-. The Gothic cathedral; : origins of Gothic architecture and the medieval concept of order. [2d ed., rev. with additions. New York] : Pantheon Books, [1962].

914.4 M

Marshall, Herbert. Cathedral cities of France. Dodd, 1907.

921 Abelard

Pernoud, Régine, 1909-. Heloise and Abelard. New York, : Stein and Day, [1973].

921 Eleanor

Brooks, Polly Schoyer. Queen Eleanor, independent spirit of the Medieval world : a biography of Eleanor of Aquitaine. 1st ed. New York : J.B. Lippincott, c1983.
A biography of the twelfth-century queen, first of France, then of England, who was the very lively wife of Henry II and mother of several notable sons, including Richard the Lionhearted.

921 Eleanor

Kelly, Amy Ruth, 1878-. Eleanor of Aquitaine and the four kings. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, c1978.

921 Francis

Jewett, Sophie. God's troubadour : the story of Saint Francis of Assisi. Crowell, 1957.

921 Francis

Sabatier, Paul. Life of St. Francis of Assisi. Scribner, 1930.

 

 

 

 

Periodical Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patti Rickert-Wilbur
Contact Info
Edith Hamilton Library
Send Email
 

Electronic Resources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History (Check for Saint Hilda or Hild of Whitby, and Heloise)

The Catholic Encyclopedia

Medieval Sourcebook

  

 

Search Engines and Web Directories

Sweet Search  SweetSearch is A Search Engine for Students. It searches only credible Web sites approved by Internet research experts. Give it a try!


 

The Open Directory Project.

 

LII.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip