This is the "Home" page of the "America on the Eve of a New Century" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

America on the Eve of a New Century   Tags: mr. george, u.s. history  

This is a pathfinder for Mr. George's class.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2016 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=309665 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Immigration

 To begin Mr. George recommends:

Peopling Of America Center - Ellis Island

To Locate Background Information:

Issues in U. S. Immigration (also available in print)

The Decades in America (also available in print)

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To Locate Primary Sources:

U.S. History in Context

Milestone Documents in American History

You will also find primary documents in books and on websites like Immigration Primary Sources - Library of Congress.

 

To Locate Books:

Search the Bryn Mawr Library Catalog -You might find books about immigration that pertain to your relatives.  Try performing a "power search".  You can combine the term immigration with a country or culture name.

To Locate Journal Articles:

Periodical databases are a great place to search for secondary sources such as journal articles.  The following databases with be helpful for this question.  You should have a google doc that contains all of the database user names and passwords for home use.

U.S. History in Context (this database includes reference sources, primary sources, newspapers, magazines and journals)

Global Issues in Context (this database includes newspapers and  journal articles, statistics,  reference sources and more)

Proquest

JSTOR

Websites

To locate more  reliable websites use Sweet Search 

Angel Island Immigration Station

Immigrant Servants Database

 Asian-Nation: Early Asian Immigration to the U.S.

Irish Catholic Immigration to America 

The Peopling of America - Ellis Island - FREE Port of New York ... 

Independent Lens: Meet the New Americans

Immigration 

Chinese Immigration and the Chinese in the United States 

BEYOND THE BORDER - Immigration Issues | PBS 

Immigration...Mexican: Introduction

 http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/usimmig1900-1980.jpg

 

Third Parties in U.S. History

To Locate Background Information

The Decades in America (also available in print)

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To Locate Primary Sources:

U.S. History in Context

Milestone Documents in American History

You will also find primary documents in books and on websites. 

To Locate Books and DVDs

Search the Bryn Mawr Library Catalog Here are few that might be helpful:

 
The Populist moment : a short history of the agrarian revolt in America    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 329.8 G    Goodwyn, Lawrence.
  Published 1978
In
 
The Populist revolt; a history of the Farmers' alliance and the People's Party.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 329.8 H    Hicks, John Donald, 1890-
  Series: A Bison book, BB111
  Published 1961
In
 
A Populist reader; selections from the works of American Populist leaders.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 329.8 T    Tindall, George Brown,
  Series: Harper torchbooks. The University library, TB3069M.
  Published 1966
In
 
 
The Dixiecrat revolt and the end of the solid South, 1932-1968    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 324.273 F    Frederickson, Kari A.
  Published 2001
In
 
A fierce discontent : the rise and fall of the Progressive movement in America, 1870-1920    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 324.2732 M    McGerr, Michael E.
  Published 2003
In
 
The Progressive movement, 1900-1915.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.91 H    Hofstadter, Richard, 1916-1970,
  Series: A Spectrum book S-72
  Published 1963

To Locate e-Books

 

To Locate Journal Articles:

Periodical databases are a great place to search for secondary sources such as journal articles.  The following databases with be helpful for this question.  You should have a google doc that contains all of the database user names and passwords for home use.

U.S. History in Context (this database includes reference sources, primary sources, newspapers, magazines and journals)

Global Issues in Context (this database includes newspapers and  journal articles, statistics,  reference sources and more)

Proquest

JSTOR Websites -To locate more  reliable websites use Sweet Search 

What is the history of "third parties" in the United States? 

Text 4 Reading, Topic: Power, The Gilded and the Gritty: America ... 

Bull Moose years of Theodore Roosevelt by Theodore Roosevelt ...  

Politics and Prejudice: The Free Soil Party and the Negro, 1849-1852 

The Know-Nothing Uproar | American Heritage Magazine 

 Political Parties [ushistory.org]

Third Parties in American Politics: Rich History, Many

 

 

 

The U.S. in the Philippines and Hawaii

The Case of Hawaii or the Philippines

 

To Locate Background Information

The Decades in America (also available in print)

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To Locate Primary Sources:

U.S. History in Context

Milestone Documents in American History

You will also find primary documents in books and on websites. 

Books in the Edith Hamilton Library-  To Locate more books search the Edith Hamilton Library Catalog

 

327.7305 P  Poole, Frederick King.  Revolution in the Philippines: the United States in a hall of cracked mirrors. 

919.69 B     Borden, Charles A.  Hawaii-- fiftieth state. 

959.9 G   The American colonial state in the Philippines: global perspectives

959.9 K  Karnow, Stanley.  In our image: America's empire in the Philippines

973.88 P  Pratt, Julius.  Expansionists of 1898: the acquisition of Hawaii and the Spanish islands. 

996.9 M  Merry, Sally Engle.  Colonizing Hawai'i: the cultural power of law

996.9 O  Osborne, Thomas J.  Annexation Hawaii. 

 

To Locate e-Books

Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection

 

 

From the web:

Annexation of Hawaii, 1898

The 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of Hawaii

Hawaii's annexation a story of betrayal

The Annexation Of Hawaii: A Collection Of Documents

Annexation of the Philippine Islands Chronology--Philippines and Guam

  Journal Articles

John W. Foster and the Struggle for the Annexation of Hawaii Michael J. Devine The Pacific Historical Review, Vol. 46, No. 1 (Feb., 1977)

American Labor and the Annexation of Hawaii: A Study in Logic and Economic Interest John C. Appel The Pacific Historical Review, Vol. 23, No. 1 Feb., 1954

Preparing to Be Colonized: Land Tenure and Legal Strategy in Nineteenth-Century Hawaii Stuart Banner Law & Society Review, Vol. 39, No. 2 (Jun., 2005),

Annexation and Conquest David Starr Jordan The Scientific Monthly, Vol. 2, No. 5 (May, 1916)

Trade or War? America's Annexation of Hawaii Reconsidered Thomas J. Osborne The Pacific Historical Review, Vol. 50, No. 3 (Aug., 1981)

The Status of the Philippines George A. Malcolm Michigan Law Review, Vol. 14, No. 7 (May, 1916)

America's Duty in the Philippines
William M. Salter International Journal of Ethics, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Apr., 1902)

The Ideology of Empire in National Geographic Magazine's Coverage of the Philippines, 1898-1908
Julie A. Tuason Geographical Review, Vol. 89, No. 1 (Jan., 1999)
Constitutional Aspects of Annexation. Part First
Carman F. Randolph Harvard Law Review, Vol. 12, No. 5 (Dec. 25, 1898)

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

To Access Databases from Home

  • You must first enable access to this service through your Bryn Mawr Google account.  Please click here and check “Turn On."  This is a one-time step and you will not need to do it in the future.
  • Next, simply click any database link here or here.
  • Enter your Bryn Mawr Google account information (ex: HamiltonE@brynmawrschool.org) and click Login.
 

Radicalism in America

Radicalism in America

Radicals: The Socialist Party, American Comminist Party, The Weathermen, Black Panthers, Malcolm XFrancis Townsend, Betty Friedan, Emma Goldman, IWW, Charles Coughlin, Carie Nation.  Check the sources below to find background information, books, primary and secondary sources and websites. 

To Locate Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library

American National Biography   REF 922. A

The Decades in America (also available in print)

U.S. History in Context  (This database includes reference sources, primary sources, newspapers, magazines and journals.)

 Books in the Edith Hamilton Library-  To Locate more books search the Edith Hamilton Library Catalog under the individual or group name.

Titles: 1 - 25 of 25
 
In
 
Cool women    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 305.4 C    Chipman, Dawn.
  Published 2001
In
 
Politics and society in twentieth-century Spain    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 320.946 P    edited with an introd. by Stanley G. Payne.
  Series: Modern scholarship on European history
  Published 1976
In
 
The Wobblies : the story of the IWW and syndicalism in the United States    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 331.88 R    Renshaw, Patrick, 1936-
  Published 1999
In
 
Legendary labor leaders    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 331.88 S    Streissguth, Thomas, 1958-
  Series: Profiles
  Published 1998
In
 
In
 
Eugene Debs : rebel, labor leader, prophet ; a biography    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 335.3 S    Selvin, David F.
  Published 1966
In
 
Anarchism, and other essays.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 335.83 G    Goldman, Emma, 1869-1940.
  Published 1969
In
 
The Pullman case : the clash of labor and capital in industrial America    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 344.7301 P    Papke, David Ray, 1947-
  Series: Landmark law cases & American society
  Published 1999
In
 
 
Will you die with me? : my life and the Black Panther Party    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 322.4 F    Forbes, Flores A.
  Published 2006
 
The beautiful struggle : a father, two sons and an unlikely road to manhood    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Coates    Coates, Ta-Nehisi.
  Published 2009
 
 
Malcolm : the life of a man who changed Black America    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 X    Perry, Bruce.
  Published 1991
In
 
Malcolm X : by any means necessary : a biography    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 X    Myers, Walter Dean, 1937-
  Published 1993
 
Social reform    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920 C    Brin, Ruth Firestone.
  Series: Contributions of women
  Published 1977
  Reading Level: 6.0  Interest Level: 5-8
In
 
Women of courage    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920 T    Truman, Margaret, 1924-
  Published 1976
In
 
Written by herself : autobiographies of American women : an anthology    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920.72 W    edited and with an introduction by Jill Ker Conway.
  Published 1992
In
In
 
In
 
Emma Goldman in exile : from the Russian Revolution to the Spanish Civil War    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Goldman    Wexler, Alice, 1942-
  Published 1989
In
 
Living my life.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Goldman    Goldman, Emma, 1869-1940.
  Published 1970
In
 
Love, anarchy, and Emma Goldman    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Goldman    Falk, Candace.
  Published 1984
In
 
Voices of protest : Huey Long, Father Coughlin, and the Great Depression    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.91 B    Brinkley, Alan.
  Published 1983
In
 
The 100 most influential women of all time : a ranking past and present    
   [ Book ]   Call #: RESGeo920.72 F    Felder, Deborah G.
  Published 1996
In
 
Woman and the New Race by Margaret Sanger    
   [ eBook ]  
In
 
Voices of protest : Huey Long, Father Coughlin, and the Great Depression    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.91 B    Brinkley, Alan.
  Published 1983
In
 
In
 
The 100 most influential women of all time : a ranking past and present    
   [ Book ]   Call #: RESGeo920.72 F    Felder, Deborah G.
  Published 1996
In
 

To locate ebooks

Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection

 

To Locate Journal Articles

Periodical databases are a great place to search for secondary sources such as journal articles.  The following databases with be helpful for this question. Search under the individual, group or movement in which you are interested.  Remember to use the advanced search features in Proquest and JSTOR to perform a more specific search! You should have a google doc that contains all of the database user names and passwords for home use.

U.S. History in Context (this database includes reference sources, primary sources, newspapers, magazines and journals)

Proquest

JSTOR

To Locate Primary Sources:

U.S. History in Context 

Milestone Documents in American History

Bryn Mawr Library Catalog -You can find primary sources in books too.  Check the catalog under speeches, names, movements and groups.   You might find a good primary source in a more general U.S. History book.

Emma Goldman 

."The Quagmires of Necessity": American Anarchists and Dilemmas of Vocation Blaine McKinley American Quarterly, Vol. 3

Anarchism and the Assassination of McKinley Sidney Fine The American Historical Review, Vol. 60

Websites

The Emma Goldman Papers (Berkeley)

Emma Goldman Archive - Anarchy Archives, an online research center on the history and theory of anarchism.

Emma Goldman Reference Archive, 1869-1940
 

IWW        

United States history origins to 2000: progressive movement. (DVD 973 U v.14)               

Journal Articles:

The IWW and the Red Scare 1917-24 Patrick Renshaw Journal of Contemporary History, Vol. 3, No. 4, 1918-19: From War to Peace. (Oct., 1968)

 The I. W. W. and the Brainworkers Robert L. Tyler American Quarterly, Vol. 15, No. 1. (Spring, 1963)

The IWW Free Speech Fights and Popular Conceptions of Free Expression before World War IDavid M. Rabban Virginia Law Review, Vol. 80, No. 5.(Aug., 1994), pp. 1055-1158.

Industrial Workers of the World | One Big Union!

Historic I. W. W. Literature On Line Pamphlets and other Publications of the I. W. W.

Industrial Workers of the World While the Industrial Workers of the World still is a going enterprise, the Marxists Internet Archive wanted to celebrate this organizations coming 100th  anniversary.

 

Charles Coughlin             

        

Journal Articles

The Coughlin Movement and the New Deal James P. Shenton Political Science Quarterly, Vol. 73, No. 3. (Sep., 1958)

A New Perspective on Father Charles E. Coughlin Mary Christine Athans Church History, Vol. 56, No. 2. (Jun., 1987)

The Coughlin Movement and the New Deal Charles J. Tull Review author[s]: Ralph E. Ellsworth Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, Vol. 360, Latin America Tomorrow. (Jul., 1965),

Comparative Biography as Political History: Huey Long and Father Coughlin (in The Craft of Teaching) Alan Brinkley The History Teacher, Vol. 18, No. 1. (Nov., 1984)

Websites

Father Charles E. Coughlin, The Radio Priest

Charles E. Coughlin

Social Security Online History Pages

Father Coughlin & The Search For "Social Justice"

 Francis Townsend

When Movements Matter - Princeton University Press 

Carrie Nation

Carrie Nation - Library of Congress

Betty Friedan

Betty Friedan, Who Ignited Cause in 'Feminine Mystique ...NYT Obituary

Malcolm X

The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University

 

 


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip