This is the "Home" page of the "US History Assignment I Riley, Yeager and George" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US History Assignment I Riley, Yeager and George   Tags: european colonists, native americans  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2016 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=373794 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Locate Primary Sources

Databases

Annals of American History

U.S. History in Context 

The following books are on reserve, but do not circulate overnight.  Please make copies!  All contain primary sources:

America Firsthand (vol.1) Readings from settlement to reconstruction    

In
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Marcus, Burner & Marcus
 
 
 
For the Record, a documentary history of America     In
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    David E. Shi & Holly A. Mayer
 
 
 
The American Spirit     In
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Bailey & Kennedy
 
 
 
Voices of Freedom, a documentary history (vol.1)     In
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Eric Foner
 
 
 
Voices of the american past, vol. 1     In
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Raymond M. Hyser & J. Chris Arndt
 

Americans at War Greg O'Brien . Ed. John P. Resch .  Vol. 1: 1500-1815.  Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005

(National Humanities Center toolkit, Illustrating the New World, Part 2; de Bry’s engravings of Harriot’s account of the 1584 Roanoke expedition and the Algonquian Indians; and LeMoyne’s account of the 1564 French settlement at Fort Caroline and the Timucua Indians.)

http://nationalhumanitiescenter.org/pds/amerbegin/exploration/text4/text4read.htm

Virtual Jamestown

Early Americas Digital Archive The EADA is an online collection of texts written in or about the Americas between 1492 and approximately 1820.

We have a story to tell: Native peoples of the Chesapeake Region. http://nmai.si.edu/sites/1/files/pdf/education/chesapeake.pdf

Virtual Museum of New France

 

Books in the Edith Hamilton Library

The Edith Hamilton Library has many books on early Native American and European contact. Here are a few that are on reserve.  Be sure to check to the catalog to find more books.

Bryn Mawr Library Catalog

 
Native American testimony : a chronicle of Indian-white relations from prophecy to the present, 1492-1992     I
   [ Book ]   970 N    edited by Peter Nabokov ; with a foreword by Vine Deloria, Jr.
  Published 1991
 
 
Historic contact : Indian people and colonists in today's northeastern United States in the sixteenth through eighteenth centuries     I
   [ Book ]   970.004 G    Grumet, Robert Steven.
  Published 1995
 
 
Indians of the Southeast: then and now     I
   [ Book ]   970.4 B    Burt, Jesse Clifton, 1921-
  Published 1973
 
 
The Delaware Indians : a history     I
   [ Book ]   970.4 W    Weslager, C. A. (Clinton Alfred), 1909-
  Published 1989
 
 
Dissent in America : voices that shaped a nation     I
   [ Book ]   973 D    [edited by] Ralph F. Young.
  Published 2008
 
 
American colonies     I
   [ Book ]   973.2 T    Taylor, Alan, 1955-
  Published 2001
 
 
Northeastern Indian lives, 1632-1816     I
   [ Book ]   974.004 N    edited by Robert S. Grumet ; foreword by Anthony F.C. Wallace.
  Published 1996
 

 

 

The following books are on reserve, but do not circulate overnight.  They all contain primary sources:

America Firsthand (vol.1) Readings from settlement to reconstruction    

I
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Marcus, Burner & Marcus
 
 
 
For the Record, a documentary history of America     I
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    David E. Shi & Holly A. Mayer
 
 
 
The American Spirit     I
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Bailey & Kennedy
 
 
 
Voices of Freedom, a documentary history (vol.1)     I
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Eric Foner
 
 
 
Voices of the american past, vol. 1     I
   [ Book ]   ResGeo    Raymond M. Hyser & J. Chris Arndt
 
 

 Digital books

Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection-This collection contains thousands of books published by academic publishers. Gilman and RPCS students can access from campus, but not remotely. 

Native Americans: Images in Popular Culture,  page(s): 131-134. Word Count: 1443.

Americans at War Greg O'Brien . Ed. John P. Resch .  Vol. 1: 1500-1815.  Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005

Subject Guide

Patti Rickert-Wilbur
Contact Info
Edith Hamilton Library
Send Email

Locate Journal Articles

To locate scholarly journal articles check the following databases:

JSTOR As you  search JSTOR for articles, be sure to check for primary sources.

U.S. History in Context 

Proquest

You might  also want to check Google Scholar.  If you wish, you and search specifically for articles and books in the JSTOR database by adding "JSTOR" into your seach.

How to Access Databases from home

  • You must first enable access to this service through your Bryn Mawr Google account. 
  • Please click here and check “Turn On."  This is a one-time step and you will not need to do it in the future.
  • Next, simply click any database link here or here.
  • Enter your Bryn Mawr Google account information (ex: HamiltonE@brynmawrschool.org) and click Login.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip