This is the "Home" page of the "Antebellum Revival and Reform-Dr. Yeager, Dr. George, and Dr. Riley" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Antebellum Revival and Reform-Dr. Yeager, Dr. George, and Dr. Riley   Tags: antebellum, antebellum reform, antebellum revival, ms. cho, u.s. history  

Last Updated: Nov 29, 2016 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=390885 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

To Locate Journal Articles

Periodical Databases

Proquest

JSTOR Below you will find a selection of articles from JSTOR.  For more articles on your topic, search JSTOR by by names, or keywords and phrases like "Second Great Awakening", industrialism, territorial expansion, etc.   Think about what terms you can combine to narrow your search.

Google Scholar 

Search tip: You can use Google Scholar to search for articles  in JSTOR.  Add JSTOR to your search and it will take you into our database. Here are a few articles to get you started.

Charles G. Finney and a Theology of Revivalism JE Johnson - Church History, 1969


 Romantic reform in America, 1815-1865 JL Thomas - American Quarterly, 1965 - 


 

Utopia Reconsidered: Women Novelists and Nineteenth-Century Utopian Visions NB Albinski - Signs, 1988 - 


 

New social movements in historical perspective P d'Anieri, C Ernst, E Kier - Comparative Politics, 1990 -

The Ever Widening Circle: The Diffusion of Feminist Values from the Troy Female Seminary 1822-1872 AF Scott - History of Education Quarterly, 1979 -



Margaret Fuller and Ralph Waldo Emerson HR Warfel - Publications of the Modern Language Association of …, 1935 -

 The Black leadership class and education in antebellum Boston

AO White - The Journal of Negro Education, 1973


Thoreau, extravagance, and the economy of natureR Grusin - American Literary History, 1993


 
The Abolitionists' Postal Campaign of 1835
B Wyatt-Brown - Journal of Negro History, 1965 - JSTOR
... It was easy enough for William Lloyd Garrison to sigh that
E Freedman - Feminist Studies, 1979
The New England Origins of Mormonism
DB Davis - New England Quarterly, 1953 - JS
 
C Zwarg - Modern Philology, 2007
Representing Truth: Sojourner Truth's knowing and becoming known
NI Painter - The Journal of American History, 1994 -
PT Barnum and the popularization of natural history
JR Betts - Journal of the History of Ideas, 1959 -
 

 

Citing Sources

Chicago Manual of Style Online (BMS History Department)
Purdue Owl gives examples of citing different kinds of sources as well as a sample paper written in CMS style.

For Background Information, Primary sources, Limited Journal and Magazine Articles

U.S. History in Context -This is a great database for locating primary sources and background articles.  It also includes magazine and and academic journal articles, but check JSTOR and Proquest for a more exhaustive search. You can search by names, or keywords and phrases likeSecond Great Awakening, industrialism, territorial expansion, etc.   Your search result will be organized by information type. 

To Locate Books

Bryn Mawr Library Catalog 

Ebrary Ebrary has an extensive collection of electronic books published by academic presses.

Google Book Search Search tip: Once you are in Google book search, click on "Free Google eBooks" to locate books available in full-text.

Books in the Library Collection

Ante-bellum reform.
[ Book ] 309.173 D Davis, David Brion, comp.
Published 1967
Utopian visionaries
[ Book ] 321.07 S Streissguth, Thomas, 1958-
Published 1999
Utopianism and education : Robert Owen and the Owenites
[ Book ] 370 U edited by John F. C. Harrison.
Published 1968
The 100 most influential women of all time : a ranking past and present
[ Book ] 920.72 F Felder, Deborah G.
Published 1996
Angel of mercy : the story of Dorothea Lynde Dix.
[ Book ] 921 Dix Baker, Rachel, 1903-
Published 1955
Waldo Emerson : a biography
[ Book ] 921 Emerson Allen, Gay Wilson, 1903-
Published 1981
The Grimke sisters from South Carolina : pioneers for women's rights and abolition
[ Book ] 921 Grimke Lerner, Gerda, 1920-
Published 1997
Joseph Smith, the first Mormon
[ Book ] 921 Smith Hill, Donna, 1921-
Published 1977
In her own right : the life of Elizabeth Cady Stanton
[ Book ] 921 Stanton Griffith, Elisabeth.
Published 1984
Henry David Thoreau: writer and rebel.
[ Book ] 921 Thoreau Stern, Philip Van Doren, 1900-
Published 1972
Henry Thoreau : the cosmic Yankee.
[ Book ] 921 Thoreau Atkinson, J. Brooks.
Published 1927
Sojourner Truth : a life, a symbol
[ Book ] 921 Truth Painter, Nell Irvin.
Published 1996
Walt Whitman, a lif
[ Book ] 921 Whitman Kaplan, Justin.
 
Utopian visionaries    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 321.07 S    Streissguth, Thomas, 1958-
  Series: Profiles
  Published 1999
In
 
Patriotic gore : studies in the literature of the American Civil War    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 810.9 W    Wilson, Edmund, 1895-1972.
  Published 1994
In
 
Mrs. Stanton & Susan    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920 M    1996
In
 
The 100 most influential women of all time : a ranking past and present    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920.72 F    Felder, Deborah G.
  Published 1996
In
 
The liberator, William Lloyd Garrison, a biography.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Garrison    Thomas, John L.
  Published 1963
In
 
Life upon these shores : looking at African American history, 1513-2008    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.0496 G    Gates, Henry Louis.
  Published 2011
In
 
Milestone documents in American history : exploring the primary sources that shaped America    
   [ Book ]   Call #: Ref 973 M v.1    Paul Finkelman, editor in chief ; Bruce A. Lesh, consulting editor.
  Series: Milestone documents
  Published 2008
In
 
Angel of mercy : the story of Dorothea Lynde Dix.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: Res 921 Dix    Baker, Rachel, 1903-
  Published 1955
      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Patti Rickert-Wilbur
    Contact Info
    Edith Hamilton Library
    Send Email

    To Locate Background Information

     

    Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History

    Dictionary of American Biography (print)

    Ref 920 D

    American National Biography (print)

    Ref 920 A

    Primary Sources

    Dissent in America (print) Res 973.D Includes Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Angelina Grimke, Margaret Fuller (On Reserve)

    The American Spirit (print) (On Reserve)

    Digital Public Library of America

    Annals of American History

    U.S. History in Context

    ProQuest Historical Newspapers (The New York Times and The Baltimore Sun) The historical newspaper go back to 1850.

    Fair Use Repository: canonical citation for a webbed world  (Recommended by a student specifically for this assignment)

    Fordham University Modern History Sourcebook

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip