Ref 103 E The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Use the index in the last volume to locate a detailed article about the philosopher you are studying as well as other articles that mention him or her. Check the bibliography at the end of the article for sources by and about the philosopher.
Ref 920 A American National Biography (for Jefferson, Paine and Franklin)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History (for de Gouges and Wollstonecraft)
Books in the Edith Hamilton Library Collection
Check the Bryn Mawr Library Catalog to locate more books on your philosopher and the Enlightenment Period.
The Age of Enlightenment: Basic Writings. Introd. & Commentary by Isaac Berlin. (190.8 B)
The Age of Reason and the Enlightenment, vol. 34 of European Writers. (Ref 809 E)
Aldington, Voltaire (921 Voltaire)
Ayers, Michael. Locke. (192 AE
Barzun, Jacques, From Dawn to Decadence: 1500 to present ( See The "The Encyclopedic Century")
Collins, John Churton. Voltaire, Montesquieu and Rousseau in England. Ebook published first in 1908.
Conroy, Peter V. JeanJacques Rousseau (848.509 R) [Read Chapter Six on Emile]
Cousins, Norman In God We Trust (973.4C)
Damrosch, Leo, Jean-Jacques Rousseau (921 Rousseau)
Diderot, Denis. Encyclopedia. Selections. (034.1 D) Excellent introduction; includes important selections from the multivolume original.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (Ref 940.25 W)
The Enlightenment. (Vol 5 of The Spirit of Western Civilization) (190 C)
Enlightenment Portraits. (944.034 E) See section on "The Man of Letters" for background and information on salons.
Events That Changed the World in the Eighteenth Century (909.7 E)
Ferguson, Moira and Janet Todd. Mary Wollstonecraft. (828.6 W) See Chapter 2: Early Writings on Education.
Fleming, Thomas Liberty: The American Revolution ( 973.3F)
Foley, Duncan, Adam's fallacy : a guide to economic theology (330.153)
Gay, Peter L. Age of Enlightenment (TimeLife series on the Great Ages of Man) (940.253 G)
__________. The Enlightenment. (190 G v.12)
Gay, Peter, ed. John Locke on Education. (370 L )
__________. The Party of Humanity. (194 G)
Gray, John. Voltaire. (194 G)
Grayling, A.C. Descartes : the life and times of a genius (921 Descartes )
Great Books of the Western World, v. 38: Montesquieu; Rousseau. See Montesquieu's Spirit of the Laws, Bk. IV. That the
Laws of Education Ought to be in Relation to the Principles of Government. (082 G)
Great Books of the Western World
Hendel, Charles. Hume Selections.(192 H)
Ingersoll, Robert Green. On Diderot. Etext Note: Ingersoll was a very famous radical atheist of the nineteenth century.
Jenson, Merrill, Founding of a Nation ((973.27 J)
Kimball, Marie. Jefferson : the Scene of Europe, 17841789. (921 Jefferson)
___________. The Road to Glory, 17431776. (921 Jefferson )
Locke, John. The Second Treatise of Government. (192 L) See the introduction especially.
Mack, Maynard, Alexander Pope:A Life (921 Pope)
Maier, Pauline From Resistance to Revolution (973.27M)
Malone, Dumas. Jefferson and His Time : The Sage of Monticello. (921 Jefferson v.6)
Maurois, Andre', Voltaire (921 Voltaire)
McCullough, David, 1776 (973.3M)
Macfarlane, Alan, The riddle of the modern world : of liberty, wealth and equality (303.401 M)
Miller, Calvin Craig. Mary Wollstonecraft and the Rights of Women. (921 Wollstonecraft) an anecdotal biography.
The New Cambridge Modern History, v.7, The Old Regime 171363 and v.8, The American and French Revolutions,
176393. (Ref 909 N)
Norton and Popkin. David Hume Philosophical Historian. (192 H).
Outram, Dorinda. The Enlightenment. (190 O) See pages on Salons.
Rousseau, JeanJacques. Emile. (844 R)
Snyder, Louis L. Age of Reason. (940.25 S)
Eighteenth Century Studies - This collection archives works of the eighteenth century from the perspectives of literary and cultural studies.
Salon Life (From the Internet Modern History Sourcebook) See the whole section on the Enlightenment for much valuable information.
Denis Diderot Biography - includes three views that put his life and work into perspective.
Olymphe de Gouge
Voltaire at EpistemeLinks.com ( If this link does not work, go to the main site address and search for Voltaire. Good for other philosophers also. http://www.epistemelinks.com/Main/MainText.asp
Voltaire and Frederick the Great - from Books and Characters, French and English, by Lytton Strachey. This is a long passage, with important quotes in French, but it is also excellent in showing the complicated relationship between the two men.
Montesquieu - entry from The Catholic Encyclopedia
Montesquieu: Ideological Co-Founder of the American Constitution along with John Locke - short biography and some quotations
Montesquieu: The Spirit of the Laws - translated excerpt from Modern History Sourcebook
The Jefferson Cyclopedia, a Comprehensive Collection of All the Views of Thomas Jefferson - arrangement is alphabetical in this treasure house, from which views on religion, education, and government may easily be extracted--if one doesn't get distracted by reading ever more from this American polymath.
Thomas Jefferson: Creating a Virginia Republic - Jefferson views on education among other things; includes writings and commentary and thumbnails of actual documents. Part of the Library of Congress American Memory Project
Mary Wollstonecraft, 1749-1797 in Philosophical Dictionary of Terms and Names
Mary Wollstonecraft, 1749-1797 in The History Guide : Lectures on Modern European Intellectual History.
Mary Wollstonecraft - hypertext entry from Spartacus.Schoolnet, the British encyclopedia of history for schools. Ignore the ads and read the text.
Mary Wollstonecraft - Article from Feminist Writers (Gale/Thompson publication, 1996)
A Vindication of the Rights of Women - from Bartleby.com; one can search this text for "education" and discover much relevant information
John Locke - History Guide : Lectures on Modern European Intellectual History
Locke: Knowledge and its Limits in Philosophical Dictionary of Terms and Names, Philosophers
Baron Paul-Henri Holbach
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics entry on Adam Smith
Marquis Marie-Jean Condorcet
Revised September, 2017
To Access the Databases From Home
- You must first enable access to this service through your Bryn Mawr Google account. Please click here and check “Turn On." This is a one-time step and you will not need to do it in the future.
- Next, simply click any database link here.
- Enter your Bryn Mawr Google account information (ex: HamiltonE@brynmawrschool.
org) and click Login.