This is the "Home" page of the "The Proposed Constitution Should Be Ratified" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Proposed Constitution Should Be Ratified  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2015 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=522786 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Proposed Constitution Should Be Ratified

       

Reference Sources:

U.S. History in Context  (Includes primary sources, journal articles, and news articles as well as reference articles)
 

Annals of American History (Includes primary sources)

   

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution Ref 342.73 E

   

The Founder's Constitution Ref 342.73 F

   

Milestone Documents in American History

   

Books in the Collection:

Bryn Mawr Library Catalog-Search tipTry looking for books about specific people  who were involved in the ratification debates.

For more books check Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection.  At this time Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection can only be accessed from Bryn Mawr.

   

The other founders : Anti-Federalism and the dissenting tradition in America, 1788-1828
      [ Book ] 320.473 C Cornell, Saul.
      Published 1999

   

The failure of the founding fathers : Jefferson, Marshall, and the rise of presidential democracy
      [ Book ] 320.973 A Ackerman, Bruce A.
      Published 2005

   

The federalist : a collection of essays
      [ Book ] 340 F by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison ; interpreting the Constitution of the United States as agreed upon by the Federal convention, Sept
      Published 1901

   

The Federalist : a commentary of the Constitution of the United States ; from the original text of Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison.
      [ Book ] 340 F
      Published 1900

   

The Federalist : a commentary on the Constitution of the United States : being a collection of essays written by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison and
      [ Book ] 340 F with an introduction by Edward Gaylord Bourne.
      Published 1901

   

The Federalist; a commentary on the Constitution of the United States, being a collection of essays written in support of the Constitution agreed upon
      [ Book ] 340 F from the original text of Alexander Hamilton, John Jay [and] James Madison, with an introduction by Edward Mead Earle.
      Published 1964

   

The Debate on the Constitution.
      [ Book ] 342.73 D
      Published 1993

   

The Federalists : a study in administrative history
      [ Book ] 353 W White, Leonard Dupee, 1891-1958.
        Published 1978

   

The Federalist era, 1789-1801
      [ Book ] 973.4 M Miller, John Chester, 1907-
        Published 1960

   

The rise of American democracy : Jefferson to Lincoln
      [ Book ] 973.5 W Wilentz, Sean.
      Published 2005

   

American State Papers -- Federalist -- J. S. Mill
      [ Book ] Ref 082 G v.43 Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc., with the editorial advice of the faculties of the University of Chicago ; Robert Maynard Hutchins, editor in chief.         Published 1987

   

Journal articles: To locate more magazine and journal articles search JSTOR.  RPCS and Gilman students go through your schools to access JSTOR from home. Remember to use the "advanced search" feature to narrow your search!

   
  • Steven R. Boyd,   Publius, Vol. 9, No. 2, Republicanism, Representation, and Consent: Views of the Founding Era  (Spring, 1979), pp. 123-137     
  •        
  • Michael P. Riccards  Presidential Studies Quarterly, Vol. 7, No. 1  (Winter, 1977), pp. 37-46                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
    The Voices of Publius and the Strategies of Persuasion in The Federalist   Todd Estes.   Journal of the Early Republic.   Indianapolis: Winter 2008.     Vol. 28, Iss. 4; p. 523 (36 pages)
                    Websites: 
 

The Constitutional Convention debates and the Anti-Federalist Papers (recommended by Dr. Yeager for primary sources)

Teaching American History.org (recommended by Dr. Yeager for primary sources)

The Constitutional Convention of 1787 in Philadelphia

   
Federalist  Papers (The  Avalon Project at the Yale Law School)
           

The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787                          
                         
James Madison earned the sobriquet "Father of the Constitution" for his role in crafting the document adopted in 1787. This site from the Constitution Society provides an annotated version of Madison's journal, which is a more complete documenting of the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia than the official record. The editor notes corrections or changes to the transcribed text.
http://www.constitution.org/dfc/dfc_0000.htm 

   

Constitutional Topic: The Federalists and Anti-Federalists - The U.S .

   

Anti-Federalist Papers

   

82.03.03: The United States Constitution    

       

The Debate Over the Constitution: Federalists vs. Antifederalists By ...John E. Semonche, Professor of US History at UNC

       

 

     
   
   
   
   

 

   

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Patti Rickert-Wilbur
    Contact Info
    Edith Hamilton Library
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip