This is the "Home" page of the "Geography Always Impacts History --WWII Mini-Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography Always Impacts History --WWII Mini-Research Project  

Last Updated: Dec 17, 2013 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=547889 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WWII Photos

U. S. Army. Battle of the bulge - Belgium - Tanks and Infantrymen of the 82nd Airborne Division, Company G, 740th Tank Battalion, 504th Regiment, push through the snow towards their objective in Belgium. U.S. First Army near Herresbach. 1944. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 17 Dec. 2013.

UK Government. The British 2nd Army: Second wave troops of 9th Canadian Infantry Brigade, probably Highland Light Infantry of Canada, disembarking with bicycles from LCI(L)s (Landing Craft Infantry Large) onto 'Nan White' Beach, JUNO Area at Bernières-sur-Mer, shortly before midday on 6 June 1944. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 17 Dec. 2013

UK Government. Tobruk 1941: British Matilda tanks move forward at Tobruk. 1941. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 17 Dec. 2013.

Online Database Resources

Encyclopedia Britannica Online* --- (general encyclopedia)

            Search for country name.  

            Click on "Table of Contents" to access dropdown list.  

            Scroll down to view history of country.

*Note:  EB works better with IE than Chrome.

Global Issues in Context  --- (database on global issues, includes extensive historical information)

            To find reference articles, use "Advanced Search:"

            Search for "country name" AND "World War II"

Culturegrams --- (database with country information)

      

    Web Resources

    CIA World Factbook

    ·         Contains geographical information about countries        

    World War II Database

    ·          Database provides information about World War II, by country     

    Geacron: World History Atlas and Timelines

    ·         Interactive map shows historical boundaries by year, from ancient times to present

             

        

      Print Resources

      BMS Library Catalog

      Search the catalog for books on World War II or on the history of a region.

          

        Web Resources for Photographs

         National Archives

           US Government database of images from WWII

        Wikimedia Commons

            Database of images in the public domain or shared under Creative Commons or GNU license --- Attribution (citationc0 required

        Imperial War Museums

           UK databases of images from wars, available for non-commercial use ---  Attribution (citation) required

            

          Subject Guide

          Profile Image
          Claire Hruban
          Contact Info
          hrubancl@brynmawrschool.org
          Send Email

          Research Tip

          Remember the three avenues to finding information:  

          1. Databases
          2. Web
          3. Print

          Try them all.

          Be creative with keywords:  

          Try synonyms.  

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip