This is the "Home" page of the "Resources in World History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources in World History  

Ninth grade history paper, Ms. Reed and Ms. Spector-Marks
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2017 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=578110 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources in World History

Image result for samurai middle ages

The Edith Hamilton Library has an excellent selection of both print and electronic resources for you to use for your term paper. This guide will help you to get started. Don't hesitate to ask Mrs. Rickert-Wilbur for help if you need it! To access the resources from home follow these directions:

         To Access the Library Databases from Home

  • You must first enable access to this service through your Bryn Mawr Google account.  Please click here and check “Turn On."  This is a one-time step and you will not need to do it in the future.
  • Next, simply click any database link here or here.
  • Enter your Bryn Mawr Google account information (ex: HamiltonE@brynmawrschool.org) and click Login.

 

Find Reference Sources

Reference sources frequently provide background information or context for a topic, but they can also direct you to other sources. They can be subject-specific encyclopedias, bibliographies, atlases, chronologies or biographical sources. The Edith Hamilton Library has an excellent collection of print reference sources. Here are some that have proven to be helpful for the history term paperReference Books Helpful for 9 th Grade History Research. In addition, you can check these electronic reference sources to which we subscribe. 

Electronic Reference resources to which Bryn Mawr subscribes:

Gale Virtual Reference Library This is a collection of electronic reference books.  Many of the books were selected to support your research paper. It's a good place to begin searching.

Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)

Oxford History of Western Music

Oxford Art Online

An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History 
Presents the geography, the demography, and the political, social, and economic history of Latin America. Provides a topical overview of Latin American development from earliest times to the present day, bringing to light patterns of continuity and change.

Cambridge World History of Food 
A two-volume history of food and nutrition, and their relation to human health and culture. Covers the spectrum of foods; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. Offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink. Includes a dictionary of plant foods.

Encyclopedia of India 
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically. For students and general readers.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

New Encyclopedia of Africa

Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History (Print and Electronic)

Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World 
A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Presents over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries covering the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.

World Eras, Vol. 1 
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600.

World Eras, Vol. 2 

Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the rise and spread of Islam, 622-1500.

World Eras, Vol. 4 
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of medieval Europe, 814-1350.

World Eras, Vol. 7 
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of imperial China, 617-1644.

World Eras, Vol. 10 
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of West African kingdoms, 500-1590.

Here are two web-based reference sources that have been helpful on occasion:

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

 

Look for Books

Books are important because they provide an in-depth treatment of your topic. If you are not able to find books on your topic in the Edith Hamilton Library, try the following: broaden your terms and search again in the online catalog, use the "power search" feature to retrieve chapters in books, consult with a librarian for help!

Note: Some of you will be working on similar topics and will therefore be sharing books. We will put these books on the Reserve Shelf in the Library. Once they go on reserve, they may be used throughout the day, and checked out at the end of the day. You must return any reserve books before 1st period the next morning.  

1. Perform a search in the Edith Hamilton Library Online Catalog to locate books in the Edith Hamilton Library

2. Use your knowledge of Dewey Decimal Classification to search for books in the Edith Hamilton Library.

3. Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection is a large collection of academic books which can be downloaded to your device.

3. Check Google Book Search This is helpful for supplementing what you find in the Edith Hamilton Library collection. Use the advanced search feature to        locate full text  e-books.

 

Search for Scholarly Journal Articles in web-based subscription databases

What is a Scholarly Journal Article?

Research Minutes: How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles               

1. Proquest Includes newspaper, magazine and journal articles. Begin your search for journal articles with Proquest so that you can take advantage of the  "topics" search feature.                 

2. JSTOR Includes full text of articles published in scholarly journals.

3. World History in Context-This database includes, reference articles, primary sources, audio and video clips, and some scholarly articles. It is more general scope, but could be a good place to begin.   

4. Google Scholar Add JSTOR to your search to access our JSTOR database.

   

Internet Academic/Portal Sites- provide access to web sites

Medieval Sourcebook

The Mongols in World History 

Voice of the Shuttle's History Page

 

Citation and Bibliography Help

The Chicago manual of style.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 808.027 C   
  Published 2010

The Chicago Manual of Style Online

Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition 

Purdue Owl Style Poster/Guide

A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 808.06 T    Turabian, Kate L. 

 

 

Subject Guide

Patti Rickert-Wilbur
Contact Info
Edith Hamilton Library
Send Email
 

It's okay to ask for help!

Knowing where to start,  and finding what you want can be overwhelming!  Stick with the resources on the pathfinder to locate books and articles. If you need help, ask a librarian-- as many times as necessary!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip