This is the "Home" page of the "World History Reference Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World History Reference Books  

Last Updated: Mar 14, 2014 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=578131 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Here are some of the reference books that have been helpful to students in the past.


Ref 103 E 

The Encyclopedia of philosophy. Reprint ed. New York: Macmillan Pub. Co. & Free Press, [1972]. v.1 and 2, Abbagnano to entropy--v. 3 and 4, Epictetus to logic--v.5 and 6, Logic to psychologism--v. 7 and 8, Psychology to Zubiri, index.

Ref 200.3 E 

The Encyclopedia of religion. New York: Macmillan, c1987. v. 1. Aaro--Aust-- v. 2 Auth-Butl--v. 3 Caba-Cona-- v. 4 Conc-Ecol--v. 5 Econ-Gobl--v. 6 God-Ichi--v. 7 Icon-Jens--v. 8 Jere-Litu--v. 9 Liu-Mith--v. 10 Moab-Nuad--v. 11 Nubu-Prim--v. 12 Proc-Saic--v. 13 Sain-Spek--v. 14 Spel-Towe--v. 15 Trad-Zwin--v. 16 Index.

Ref 200.3 O 

The Oxford dictionary of world religions. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.

Ref 270 C 

Christian church. [ Alexandria, Va.]: Stonehenge, [1992, c1987]. Includes bibliographical references (p.229-231).

Ref 270 E 

Eerdman's handbook to the history of Christianity. 1st American ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1977.

Ref 270.6 O 

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

Ref 282 H 

The Harper Collins encyclopedia of Catholicism. 1st ed. New York: HarperCollins, c1995

Ref 291 B 

Bowker, John Westerdale. World religions. 1st American ed. New York: DK Pub., 1997.

Ref 291.2 J 

Jordan, Michael. Encyclopedia of gods: over 2,500 deities of the world. New York, NY: Facts on File, c1993.

Ref 291.3 B 

Brockman, Norbert C. Encyclopedia of sacred places. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO, c1997. Sacred sites listed by religious tradition--Entries listed by country--Entries on the UNESCO world heritage list of cultural sites

Ref 297 C v.2A 

The Cambridge history of Islam. Cambridge [ Eng.]: Cambridge University Press, 1977. v. 1a. The central Islamic lands, from pre-Islamic times to the first World War.--v.1b. The central Islamic lands since 1918.--v.2a. The Indian sub-continent, South-east Asia, Africa and the Muslim west.--v.2b. Islamic society and civilization.

Ref 300.03 I 

International encyclopedia of the social sciences. [ New York]: Macmillan, [1968]-c1979.

Ref 306.3 H 

A historical guide to world slavery. New York: Oxford University press, 1998.

Ref 330.03 E 

Encyclopedia of economics. New York: cGraw-Hill, c1982. More than 300 articles written by experts on various topics in economics.

Ref 391 A 

Ashelford, Jane. A visual history of costume: the sixteenth century. New York: Drama Book, 1983.

Ref 391 II

In an influential fashion: an encyclopedia of nineteenth-and twentieth-century fashion designers and retailers who transformed dress. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2002.

Ref 391 R 

Racinet, A. The historical encyclopedia of costumes. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 1988. Translation of Le costume historique. From the Middle Ages to the author's nineteenth century contemporaries, the costumes of kings, paupers, soldiers, scholars, and the bourgeoisie are illustrated in detail.

Ref 391.009 S 

Squire, Geoffrey. Dress and society, 1560-1970. New York: Viking Press, [1974].

Ref 391.09 D 

Davenport , Millia. The book of costume. New York: Crown Publishers, [1948].

Ref 422.4 M 

Mawson, Christopher. Dictionary of foreign terms. 2d ed. New York: Crowell, [1975].

Ref 502.8 I 

Instruments of science: an historical encyclopedia. New York: Science Museum, London, and National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution, in association with Garland Pub., 1998. 

Ref 509 H 

Hellemans, Alexander. The timetables of science: a chronology of the most important people and events in the history of science. New York: Simon and Schuster, c1988. Timetables format provides instant access to key events in major scientific disciplines year by year.

Ref 509.4 E 

Encyclopedia of the scientific revolution: from Copernicus to Newton . New York: Garland Pub., 2000. 

Ref 614.4 E 

Encyclopedia of plague and pestilence: from ancient times to the present. Rev. ed. New York: Facts on File, c2001

Ref 703 D 

Dictionary of art. New York: Grove, 1996.

Ref 703 E 

Encyclopedia of world art. New York,: McGraw-Hill, [1959-c1987].

Ref 709.02 G

Gilbert, Creighton. History of Renaissance art: painting, sculpture, architecture throughout Europe. New York: H. N. Abrams, [1973].

Ref 709.02 S 

Swarzenski, Hanns. Monuments of Romanesque art: the art of church treasures in north-western Europe. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, [1954].

Ref 709.1 P 

Papadopoulo, Alexandre. Islam and Muslim art. New York: H. N. Abrams, 1979, c1976.

Ref 709.3 F 

Frankfort, Henri. The art and architecture of the ancient Orient. [ Harmondsworth, Eng.]: Penguin Books, [1954]. 

Ref 709.34 R 

Rowland, Benjamin. The art and architecture of India: Buddhist, Hindu [and] Jain. London; Baltimore, Md.: Penguin, [1953].

Ref 709.51 S 

Sickman, Laurence C. S. The art and architecture of China. Baltimore, Md: Penguin Books, [1956]. Painting and sculpture/by L. Sickman-- Architecture/by A. Soper.

Ref 709.52 P 

Paine, Robert. The art and architecture of Japan. Baltimore: Penguin Books, [1955]. Painting and sculpture/R. T. Paine--Architecture/by A. Soper. 

Ref 723 G 

Grodecki, Louis. Gothic architecture. New York: H. N. Abrams, 1977, c1976. 

Ref 738.2 V 

Von Winning, Hasso. Pre-Columbian art of Mexico and Central America. New York: Abrams, [1968]. 

Ref 745.4494 C

Classicism and the Baroque in Europe. New York; London: Abbeville Press, c1996. 

Ref 780.3 N

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians. 2nd ed. London: Macmillan Reference, 2000.

Ref 902.02 G 

Grun, Bernard. The timetables of history: a horizontal linkage of people and events, based on Werner Stein's Kulturfahrplan. English language ed. New York: Simon and Schuster, c1975.

Ref 903 D 

The Dictionary of global culture. 1st ed. New York: Knopf: Distributed by Random House, 1997. 

Ref 903 L 

Langer, William L. An encyclopedia of world history: ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged. 4th ed., rev. and enl. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1968. Ancient, medieval and modern--chronologically arranged. 

Ref 909 G 

Garraty, John. The Columbia history of the world. [1st ed.]. New York: Harper & Row, [1972].

Ref 909 G 

Gilbert, Martin. The illustrated atlas of Jewish civilization: 4,000 years of Jewish history. New York: Macmillan, c1990. "The maps are based on those in the Jewish history atlas by Martin Gilbert." A visual survey of Jewish history from the emergence of the Jews in ancient Palestine to the present day.

Ref 909 N 

The New Cambridge modern history. Cambridge [ Eng.]: University Press, 1957-79.

Ref 909 O 

The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995-. v. 1. Abba-Fami--v. 2. Faqi-Leba--v. 3. Libe-Sare --v. 4. Sata-Zurk.

Ref 909 W

The European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600. Detroit, MI : Gale Group, 2001. World events--Geography--The arts --Communication, transportation, and exploration—Social class system and the economy --Politics, law, and the military--Leisure, recreation, and daily life--Family and social trends --Religion and philosophy--Science, technology, and health

Ref 909 W 

World history on file: Early Civilizations (prehistory to 300 CE). New York: Facts on File, c1999. v. 1 Early civilizations (prehistory to 300 CE)--v. 2 The expanding world (300-1750)--v. 3 The age of revolution (1750 to 1914)--v. 4 The 20th century

Ref 909.04 A

Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience. 1st ed. New York Basic Civitas Books, c1999.

Ref 909.04 D 

De Lange, N. R. M. Atlas of the Jewish world. New York: Facts on File, [c1984]. An illustrated survey of the history and culture of the Jewish people from earliest times to the present.

Ref 909.07 D 

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. New York: Scribner, c1982-c1989. v.1. Aachen to Augustinism--v.2. Augustinus Triumphus to Byzantine literature--v.3. Cabala to Crimea--v.4. Croatia to family sagas, Islandic--v. 5. Famine in the Islamic world to Groote, Geert--v.6. Grossteste, Robert to Italian literature--v.7. Italian Renaissance to Mabinogi--v.8. Macbeth to mystery plays -- v.9. Mystery religions to Poland--v.10. Polemics to Scandinavia-- v.11. Scandinavian languages to textiles, Islamic--v.12. Thaddeus legend to Zwart-Noc-v.13. Interim index. 

Ref 909.07 P 

Platt, Colin. The atlas of medieval man. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1980, c1979. Surveys the history and civilization of all parts of the world from the year 1000 to 1500.

Ref 909.07 T 

Trade, travel, and exploration in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia. New York: Garland Pub., 2000

Ref 909.070223 A 

The Atlas of the crusades. London: Times Books, 1991. 

Ref 909.08 M 

Morris, Richard B. Harper encyclopedia of the modern world: a concise reference history from 1760 to the present. [1st ed.]. New York: Harper & Row, [1970]. 

Ref 909.09 C 

The Cambridge illustrated history of the Islamic world. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

Ref 909.09 R 

Robinson, Francis. Atlas of the Islamic World since 1500. New York, N.Y: Facts On File, [c1982].

Ref 910 E 

Encyclopedia of world geography. New York: Dorset, 1989

Ref 910

Larousse encyclopedia of world geography: adapted from geographie universelle Larousse. London: P. Hamlyn, [1964]. 

Ref 910.3 C 

Clark, Audrey N. The Penguin dictionary of geography. 2nd ed., New ed. London, Englan; New York, N.Y., USA: Penguin Books, 1998.

Ref 910.3 M 

Merriam-Webster's geographical dictionary. 3rd ed. Springfield, Mass: Merriam-Webster, c1997. 

Ref 910.3 O 

The Oxford dictionary of the world. Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

Ref 910.92 D 

Delpar, Helen. The Discoverers: an encyclopedia of explorers and exploration. New York: McGraw-Hill, c1980. More than 22 alphabetically-arranged articles provide information on the history of exploration and biographies of famous explorers.

Ref 911.496 H 

Hupchick, Dennis P. The Palgrave concise historical atlas of the Balkans. 1st ed., Sept. 2001. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire [ England]; New York: Palgrave, 2001. Introductory maps--Era of Byzantine hegemony, 600-1355--Era of Ottoman domination, 1355-1804--Era of romantic nationalism, 1804-1878--Era of nation-state nationalism, 1878-1944--Era of communist domination, 1944-1991--Era of post-communism, 1991-present.

Ref 911

Fage, J. D. An atlas of African history. London: E. Arnold, [c1958, 1970].

Ref 918.0303 E 

Encyclopedia of Latin America. New York: McGraw-Hill, [1974].

Ref 920 E

Encyclopedia of world biography. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale Research, c1998-<c2000>. v. 1. A-Barbosa--v. 2. Bardeen-Briand--v. 3. Brice-Ch'i Pai-Shih -- v. 4. Chippendale-Dickinson--v. 5. Diderot-Forbes--v. 6. Ford-Grilliparze --v. 7. Grimke-Howells--v. 8. Hoxha-Kierkegaard--v. 9. Kilpatrick-Loui--v. 10. Love-Micah--v. 11. Michael- Orleans--v. 12. Orozco-Radisson--v. 13. Raffles-Schelling-- v. 14. Schiele-Stuart--v. 15. Studi-Visser--v. 16. Vitoria-Zworykin--v. 17. Index-- 18. Supplement A-Z--v.19. Supplement A-Z--v. 20. Supplement A-Z--v. 21. Supplement A-Z. Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed.

Ref 920 P 

Palmer, Alan. Who's who in modern history, 1860-1980. 1st American ed. New York: Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1981, c1980. Lists over 600 biographical sketches of men and women who have shaped the course of world history between 1860 and 1980.

Ref 920.72 E 

Extraordinary women of the Medieval and Renaissance world: a biographical dictionary. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2000

Ref 940.1 A 

Artz, Frederick. The mind of the Middle Ages, A.D. 200-1500: an historical survey. 3d ed., rev. New York: Knopf, 1958 [c1954].

Ref 940.1 D 

Rice, David Talbot, ed. The dawn of European civilization: the Dark Ages. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1965.

Ref 940.1 L 

Lacroix, Paul. Military and religious life in the Middle Ages and the period of the Renaissance. London: Bickers & Son, [19--].

Ref 940.2 B 

Bergin, Thomas. Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. New York , N.Y.: Facts on File Publications, c1987. List 2500 entries covering the principal issues, events, and people in Europe throughout the fourteenth, fifteenth, and sixteenth centuries.

Ref 940.21 R 

Renaissance. Alexandria, Va: Stonehenge, 1993.

Ref 940.25 W 

Wilson, Ellen. Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. New York: Facts On File, c1996. 

Ref 942.07 A 

Allen, Robert. Life in eighteenth century England. [ Boston: c1941].

Ref 944 R 

Raymond, Gino. Historical dictionary of France. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.

Ref 944.02 

Boyd, K.T. The French renaissance. [ Boston: c1940].

Ref 949.74 

Cuvalo, Ante. Historical dictionary of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997.

Ref 950 E

Encyclopedia of Asian history. New York: Scribner, c1988.

Ref 951 B 

Blunden, Caroline. Cultural atlas of China. Rev. ed. New York: Checkmark Books, c1998.

Ref 951 C 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of China. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982.

Ref 952 C 

Collcutt, Martin. Japan. Alexandria, Va.: Stonehenge, 1991, c1988.

Ref 954 J 

Johnson, Gordon, Ph. D. Cultural atlas of India: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka. New York: Facts on File, c1996. The physical and cultural background--Introduction to the subcontinent--Land, climate, agriculture--People, religion, society--The pas--Regions of the subcontinent-- Special features--List of maps--Regional maps.

Ref 956.003 H 

Hiro, Dilip. Dictionary of the Middle East. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1998.

Ref 960 A 

African history on file. New York: Facts on File, 1994.

Ref 960 A 

Africa. Alexandria, Va.: Stonehenge, 1991.

Ref 960.03 C 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Africa. Cambridge [ Eng.]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1981. A guide to Africa's physical environment, peoples, archaeology, pre-colonial history, colonial history, contemporary Africa, natural resources, political economy, society, religion, art, tourism, and Africa and the world

Ref 960.03 E 

The Encyclopedia of Africa. New York: F. Watts, 1976. Examines the land, people, economy, social services, ecology, arts, sports, history, government, and famous people of Africa.

Ref 960.2 E 

Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa: archaeology, history, languages, cultures, and environments. Walnut Creek, Calif.: AltaMira Press, c1997.

Ref 961.2 S 

St. John, Ronald Bruce. Historical dictionary of Libya. 3rd ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.

Ref 967 E 

Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, c1997. v. 1. Abeokuta - Ecosystems--v. 2. Edo-Literacy--v. 3. Literature - Reunion--v. 4. Rhodes-Zulu. Index.

Ref 972.01 O vol.1 

The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.

Ref 980 C 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985. Includes bibliographies and index. Discusses the region's past and present culture, society, history, economics, and politics.

Ref 980 E 

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. New York: London: C. Scribner's Sons; Simon & Schuster: Prentice Hall International, c1996. v. 1. Abad to Casa--v. 2. Casa Grande to Furtado--v. 3. Gabeira to Mesta--v. 4. Mestizo to Rutineros--v. 5. Sá to Zutuhil, Index.

Last updated: October, 2006

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patti Rickert-Wilbur
Contact Info
Edith Hamilton Library
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip