This is the "Home" page of the "Inter-War Period-How does culture intersect with other dimensions of society, daily experience, and political ideology?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Inter-War Period-How does culture intersect with other dimensions of society, daily experience, and political ideology?  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2017 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=581691 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tips For Getting Started

Image result for battleship potemkin poster

Begin reading broadly in books about modernism and/or culture during the Inter-War Period.  Look for sections and chapters on the field that interests you (music, architecture, etc.) There are some on reserve, but remember to check the online catalog for more.

Consult reference sources to get background information, identify keywords and names and establish context. Search broadly using the field in which you are interested and Inter-War Period, modernism, modernists, etc.

Consult timelines and chronologies to identify names and establish context.

Timelines of the twentieth century : a chronology of over 7500 key events, works, discoveries, and people that shaped our  century    
 

Call #: Ref 909.82 B    Brownstone, David M. (Book) 

Chronicle of the 20th century    
 Book)  Call #: Ref 909 C    [editor in chief, Clifton Daniel].
 

Keep a running list of keywords and names.  This is really important! You will have to think creatively about where and how to locate information for this paper.

Have fun!!

 

Reference Sources

Reference sources frequently provide background information or context for a topic. They can be subject-specific encyclopedias, bibliographies, atlases, chronologies or biographical sources. The Edith Hamilton Library has an excellent collection of print reference sources. Here are some that might  helpful for this paper. In addition, you can check these electronic reference sources to which we subscribe.

Print  Reference books in the Edith Hamilton Library:

 

The dictionary of art    (Also available in digital format)

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 703 D    editor, Jane Turner.

 

Published 1996

 

 

Macmillan encyclopedia of architects    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 720 M    Adolf K. Placzek, editor in chief.

 

Published 1982

 

 

 

Studio dictionary of design & decoration.    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 745.4 S    [Editor: Robert Harling.

 

Series: A Studio book

 

Published 1973

 

 

The Illustrated dictionary of twentieth century designers    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 745.4442 I    introduction by Peter Dormer.

 

Published 1991

 

 

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians      (Also available in digital format)

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 780.3 N    edited by Stanley Sadie.

 

Published 1980

 

 

Chronicle of the cinema.    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 791.43 C   

 

Published 1997

 

The Oxford guide to film studies    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 791.43 O    edited by John Hill and Pamela Church Gibson ; consultant editors, Richard Dyer, E. Ann Kaplan, Paul Willemen.

 

Published 1998

 

The Oxford companion to the theatre,    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 792.03 O    Hartnoll, Phyllis.

 

Published 1967

 

 

Timelines of the twentieth century : a chronology of over 7500 key events, works, discoveries, and people that shaped our century    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 909.82 B    Brownstone, David M.

 

Published 1996

I

 

Our times : the illustrated history of the 20th century    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: Ref 909.82 O    editor in chief, Lorraine Glennon.

 

Published 1995

Electronic Reference resources to which Bryn Mawr subscribes:

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

World History in Context-This database includes many reference books in addition to news, magazine and journal articles, primary sources and more

Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)

Oxford History of Western Music

Oxford Art Online

 

 

To locate information in full length books (monographs)

Books on Reserve

There are several books on Modernism on reserve in the Edith Hamilton Library.  These books may be taken out overnight at the end of the school day, and must be returned the next morning before 8:00.   To find books on specific  aspects of Modernism, check the online catalog.

The Wasteland.djvu

Butler, Christopher, Modernism: A Very Short Introduction

Crunden, Robert, Body and Soul: The Making of American Modernism

Gay, Peter, Modernism: The Lure of Heresy

Hochman, Elaine, Bauhaus:Crucible of Modernism

Kolocotroni, Vassiliki, Modernism

Levenson, Michael, Modernism

Lewis, Pericles, The Cambridge Introduction to Modernism

Ross, Alex, The Rest is Noise

Databases

ARTStor

ARTstor is an online resource of 1.8 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences

JSTOR

Jstor includes articles  from academic journals, as well as primary sources and books.

Proquest

ProQuest Historical Newspapers-This is great for finding news and review articles from the 1920's and 1930's.   You can limit by decade.

Twayne's Authors Series

Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.

Citation

Subject Guide

Patti Rickert-Wilbur
Contact Info
Edith Hamilton Library
Send Email

Tips for using Wikipedia

Wikipedia has a great article on Modernism. You may not use it as a source for your paper, but you may read it to get background information, keywords, and names, and to consult its bibliography.  Click here to read it.

Image result for schoenberg atonal

About the Web

Use academic search engines like Sweet Search  and  iSEEK to locate reliable websites.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip