This is the "Home" page of the "The Turbulent Era-U.S. History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Turbulent Era-U.S. History  

Yeager, George, U.S. History, Portfolio 4
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2015 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=587059 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Civil Rights Movements and the "Rights" Revolution

For Background Information (You may use only one article from these sources)

The Decades in America (Salem Press) 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Books-To locate books in the Edith Hamilton Library check the online catalog.  Here are some that might be useful.

Women together : a history in documents of the women's movement in the United States    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 301.41 P    Papachristou, Judith.

 

Published 1976

The politics of women's liberation : a case study of an emerging social movement and its relation to the policy process    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 301.412 F    Freeman, Jo.

 

Published 1975

Chicano power: the emergence of Mexican America.    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 301.4516 C    Castro, Tony.

 

Published 1974

Why we lost the ERA    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 305.42 M    Mansbridge, Jane J.

 

Published 1986

 

Interest Level: Adult

Women's rights    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 305.42 T    Thomsen, Natasha.

 

Series: Global issues

 

Published 2012

Out for good : the struggle to build a gay rights movement in America    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 305.9 C    Clendinen, Dudley.

 

Published 1999

Making gay history : the half-century fight for lesbian and gay equal rights    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 305.9 M    Marcus, Eric.

 

Published 2002

Crisis : 40 stories revealing the personal, social, and religious pain and trauma of growing up gay in America    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 306.76 C c.2    edited by Mitchell Gold ; with Mindy Drucker.

 

Published 2008

Guarding the golden door : American immigration policy and immigrants since 1882    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 325.73 D    Daniels, Roger.

 

Published 2005

Tangled destinies : Latin America and the United States    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 327.7308 C    Coerver, Don M., 1943-

 

Series: Diálogos

 

Published 1999

Dismantling desegregation : the quiet reversal of Brown v. Board of Education    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 370.19 O    Orfield, Gary.

 

Published 1996

Native American testimony : a chronicle of Indian-white relations from prophecy to the present, 1492-1992    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 970 N    edited by Peter Nabokov ; with a foreword by Vine Deloria, Jr.

 

Published 1991

Native heritage : personal accounts by American Indians, 1790 to the present    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 970.004 H    edited by Arlene Hirschfelder ; foreword by Jeffrey L. Hamley.

 

Published 1995

Latinos : a biography of the people    

   [ Book ]  

Call #: 973.0468 S    Shorris, Earl, 1936-2012.

 

Published 1992

Gender issues and sexuality essential primary sources    

   [ eBook ]  

K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, editors.

 

Series: Social issues primary sources collection

 

Published 2007

For Primary Sources

Annals of American History 

Don't forget to check the online catalog for primary sources too!

To Locate Journal Articles

Proquest The Proquest database also includes newspaper and magazine articles

JSTOR

For Reliable Websites 

SweetSearch You might also find primary sources when searching SweetSearch.

 

 

 

Oral History-Vietnam

Some of these tips will be helpful

Interview Tips & Resources (Veterans History Project ...

For Background Information (You may use only one article from these sources)

The Decades in America (Salem Press) 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Books-There are many books on the Vietnam War in our collection.  Some are scholarly secondary sources, some are  personal accounts, some include other kinds of primary sources.  You may use the person that you interview as your primary source,  but if you want more, search the online catalog.  Here are a few general books on Vietnam  that might be helpful.

 
Vietnam at war : the history, 1946-1975    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 959.704 D    Davidson, Phillip B., 1915-
  Published 1991
In
 
Vietnam, there and here    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 959.704 M    Mabie, Margot C. J.
  Published 1985
  Reading Level: 8.7  Interest Level: 7-10
In
 
Women at war : the story of fifty military nurses who served in Vietnam    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 959.704 N    Norman, Elizabeth M.
  Published 1990
In
 
Rethinking Camelot : JFK, the Vietnam War, and U.S. political culture    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.922 C    Chomsky, Noam.
  Published 1993
In
 
A time for war : the United States and Vietnam, 1941-1975    
   [ Book ]   Call #: resgeo327.7305 S    Schulzinger, Robert D., 1945-
  Published 1998

For Primary Sources

Annals of American History 

Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)

Don't forget to check the online catalog for primary sources too!

To Locate Journal Articles

Proquest The Proquest database also includes newspaper and magazine articles

JSTOR

For Reliable Websites 

SweetSearch You might also find primary sources when searching SweetSearch.

Thirteen Days (Film Analysis)

For Background Information (You may use only one article from these sources)

The Decades in America (Salem Press) 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Books-To locate books in the Edith Hamilton Library check the online catalog.  Here are some that might be useful.

 
High noon in the Cold War : Kennedy, Khrushchev, and the Cuban Missile Crisis    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 327.47 F    Frankel, Max, 1930-
  Published 2004
In
 
Thirteen days : a memoir of the Cuban missile crisis    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 327.73047 K    Kennedy, Robert F, 1925-1968.
  Published 1969
In
 
The Cuban missile crisis, 1962 : a National Security Archive documents reader    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.922 C    edited by Laurence Chang and Peter Kornbluh.
  Published 1998
In
 
Anatomy of the Cuban Missile Crisis    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 973.922 N    Nathan, James A.
  Series: Greenwood Press guides to historic events of the twentieth century,
  Published 2001

 

For Primary Sources

Annals of American History 

Don't forget to check the online catalog for primary sources too!

To Locate Journal Articles

Proquest The Proquest database also includes newspaper and magazine articles, some of which date back to the 1960's.

JSTOR

For Reliable Websites 

SweetSearch You might also find primary sources when searching SweetSearch.

Iranian Hostage Crisis

For Background Information (You may use only one article from these sources)

The Decades in America (Salem Press) 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Books-To locate books in the Edith Hamilton Library check the online catalog.  Here are some that might be useful.

 

 
The crisis : the president, the prophet, and the Shah-- 1979 and the coming of militant Islam    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 327.73 H    Harris, David, 1946-
  Published 2004
In
 
America held hostage : the secret negotiations    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 327.73 S    Salinger, Pierre.
  Published 1981
  Interest Level: Young Adult
In
 
Morality, reason, and power : American diplomacy in the Carter years    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 327.73 S    Smith, Gaddis.
  Published 1986
In
 
Keeping faith : memoirs of a president    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Carter    Carter, Jimmy, 1924-
  Published 1982
  Interest Level: Young Adult
In
 
All fall down : America's tragic encounter with Iran    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 955.054 S    Sick, Gary, 1935-
  Published 2001

For Primary Sources

Annals of American History 

Don't forget to check the online catalog for primary sources too!

To Locate Journal Articles

Proquest The Proquest database also includes newspaper and magazine articles, some of which date back to the 1960's.

JSTOR

For Reliable Websites 

SweetSearch You might also find primary sources when searching SweetSearch.

 

Design You Own Portfolio

Please get your topic approved by Dr. Yeager or Dr. George

 For Background Information (You may use only one article from these sources)

The Decades in America (Salem Press) 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Books-To locate books in the Edith Hamilton Library check the online catalog.  Here are some that might be useful.

 For Primary Sources

Annals of American History 

Don't forget to check the online catalog for primary sources too!

To Locate Journal Articles

Proquest The Proquest database also includes newspaper and magazine articles, some of which date back to the 1960's and 1970's.

JSTOR

For Reliable Websites 

SweetSearch You might also find primary sources when searching SweetSearch.

Subject Guide

Patti Rickert-Wilbur
Contact Info
Edith Hamilton Library
Send Email

Tips for Locating Scholarly Journal Articles

JSTOR

You must set up your own account in order to search JSTOR. Look for a Google Doc with instructions.

When searching Proquest or JSTOR, use the advanced search feature to refine your search.

Check the "peer review" box in Proquest, or the "article" box in JSTOR.

Select two or three keywords to search  in these databases.

You can use Google Scholar to search JSTOR. Simply add JSTOR to your search..

Ask a Librarian for help.

About the Sweetsearch Search Engine

Sweet Search is a search engine for students. It searches only credible Web sites approved by Internet research experts. It is very good for locating information in the field of history.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip