This is the "Home" page of the "Nationalists Roundtable" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nationalists Roundtable   Tags: cullen, riley  

Last Updated: May 13, 2014 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=595953 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Nationalist Roundtable

 

Books

The Edith Hamilton Library has many biographies and reference sources available. Search the "online catalog" under the name of the nationalist.

Reference Sources

BBC - Homepage

Encyclopedia Britannica Online 

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

New Encyclopedia of Africa

Ref 947 E Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe : from the Congress of Vienna to the fall of communism.   
REF 980 E Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture.
Ref 950 E V. 4 Encyclopedia of Asian history.     
REF 920 E The Encyclopedia of World Biography
Ref 956.003 E v.1 Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East.   
REF 305.4203 O The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Ref 909 O Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World

 

Journal Articles

Periodical Databases-to locate newspaper, magazine and journal articles

ProQuest-The Proquest database includes the Historical New York Times back to 1857, as well as current newspaper articles, magazine and journal articles. You can check here for obituaries as well as other periodical literature.

JStor-is a large storage database for journal articles. You can use the advanced search mode to eliminate book reviews from your results list. You might also want to try searching for your nationalist in the abstract only rather than in the full text of each article. Here are just a few of the articles you will find there:

Nkrumah: The Leninist Czar

Nasser and DeGaulle: Heroes in Search of a Role

The Other Side of Peronist Argentina: Radicals and Socialists in the Political Opposition to Perón (1946-1955)

Review Article: Kinross on Ataturk: A Note

Thoughts on Ho Chi Minh

Culture, virtue, and political transformation in contemporary Northern Viet …

The Soviet Union and Iran under Khomeini

Social Change in Islamic Society: The Political Thought of Ayatollah Khomeini

A Discussion with Yasser Arafat

Arafat on Peace

Julius Nyerere: Reflections on the Legacy of His Socialism

Indian Foreign Policy: The Age of Nehru

The Le Pen Moment

The New Constitution of Turkey

An Interview with Fidel Castro

 

Putin and his supporters

The Army and the Founding of the Turkish Republic

The New Constitution of Turkey

The idea of freedom in Burma and the political thought of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi 

Sung San Suu Kyi: Is She Burma's Woman of Destiny? 

Burma in 1995: Looking Beyond the Release of Aung San Suu Kyi

 
 

Websites A-L

Sweet SearchSweetsearch is A Search Engine for Students. It searches only credible Web sites approved by Internet research experts. You should find lots of good information on your Nationalist here.

 

Yassir Arafat

Arafat: Flawed Symbol of Palestine , by Gerald Butt, BBC News

Yasser Arafat  

Reinventing Yassir Arafat - TIME 

 Ahmed Ben Bella

Ahmed Ben Bella, Algeria's first president, dies at 95 - latimes.com

 

BBC ON THIS DAY | 20 | 1965: Students protest after Algiers coup

Ahmed Ben Bella

Fidel Castro

Fidel Castro - About.com's site with links to biographical and primary text material.

Castro Internet Archive - A vast collection of speeches

"On the Export of Revolution", Fidel Castro, - primary text

"Cuba: Socialist Paradise or Castro's Fiefdom?" - a view from Workers Solidarity, a Socialist publication

Hugo Chavez

BBC NEWS | World | Americas | Profile: Hugo Chavez

 

From bullets to ballots: The emergence of popular support for Hugo Chávez

Hugo Chávez Frías: His Movement and His Presidency

David Ben Gurion

David Ben-Gurion - TIME

When Ben-Gurion said no to JFK - JPost - Opinion - Op-Eds

Mustapha Kemal (Ataturk):

Ataturk and the Modernization of Turkey

Mustafa Kemal Ataturk

Kemal Ataturk

Ataturk.com

Virtual Istanbul--Ataturk

 Ayatollah Khomeini

 History of Iran: Ayatollah Khomeini

Modern History Sourcebook: Ayatollah Khomeini: The Uprising of Khurdad

The Story of the Revolution  

Aung San Kyi

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi News - The New York Times

 

Aung San Suu Kyi - Biography

 

BBC News - Profile: Aung San Suu Kyi

 

Party Claims Victory for Aung San Suu Kyi in Myanmar - NYTimes.com

 

Aung San Suu Kyi - The 2011 TIME 100 - TIME

 

LePen (France)

Jean-Marie Le Pen - BBC News report

Jean-Marie Le Pen: A Right Wing Extremist and His Party - Anti-Defamation League

Profile: Marine Le Pen - Features - Al Jazeera English

AP Interview: Marine Le Pen says her anti-Islamization fight won't ...

 

Websites M-Z

Nelson Mandela

Time 100: Nelson Mandela - Biography from Time Magazine

Nelson Mandela Quotes

Nelson Mandela's Nobel Lecture

Slobodan Milosevic

Milosevic's Yugoslavia - BBC News - a summary of happenings under Milosevic and after his ouster

NYT: The Death of Milosevic

Inside the Mind of Milosevic - Aubrey Immelman, a Professor at St. John's University (Minn.), offers a psychological assessment

English Translation of Some of Slobodan Milosevic's Early Speeches - the man gave long speeches!

Ho Chi Minh

"Ho Chi Minh's Rhetoric for Revolution", by Peter A. DeCaro

Moreorless hero files - Ho Chi Minh

VietQuoc: Ho Chi Minh - Critical articles on Ho Chi Minh, by supporters of the exiled Vietnam National Party

Ho Chi Minh Archive - Marxists.com site with biographical and primary source material

Mandela - Biography Nelson Mandela - Biographyelson Mandela - Biography

 Gamal Abdul Nasser

 Gamal AbduI-Nasser - entry from Encyclopedia of the Orient

Gamel Abdul Nasser's Last Political Speech: The Struggle for Renaissance -primary text.

Nasserist Rule - from Arab.net 

Pandit Nehru

"Marxism, Capitalism, and Non-Alignment" - Excerpts from a Speech, Modern History Sourcebook

Speech on the Granting of Independence, Aug. 14, 1947 - Modern History Sourcebook

Nehru-see and hear him.

 Kwame Nkrumah

Kwami Nkrumah's Vision of Africa - BBC World Service

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah

"I Speak of Freedom" - speech of Nkrumah, 1961.  Primary text.

Julius Nyerere

Julius Nyerere, lifelong learning and informal education

Julius Nyerere: The Ethical Foundation of his Legacy

The World: Message to America from Tanzania's President Julius K

Juan Perón

Juan Domingo Perón: Excerpts from Speeches (in English)- Modern History Sourcebooks; primary texts

The Legacy of Juan Perón 

Vladimir Putin

 
 

News about Vladimir Putin. Commentary and archival information aboutVladimir Putin from The New York Times.

"Putin's Career Rooted in Russia's KGB".

BBC World Service | The Putin ProjectWashington Post. 100 - TIME 

Yitzak Rabin

CNN - Assassination and funeral of Yitzhak Rabin

 

 Achmed Sukarno

The United States and the Overthrow of Sukarno

Asia Biography: Sukarno - AsiaSource Encyclopedia

Sukarno: Speech at the Opening of the Bandung Conference, Apr. 18, 1955 - Modern History Sourcebook; primary text

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip