This is the "Home" page of the "Understanding the Culture Wars of the 1960's and 1970's-Mr. George" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Understanding the Culture Wars of the 1960's and 1970's-Mr. George  

Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=696065 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

To Locate Background Information

The Decades in America

Gale Virtual Reference Library

U.S. History in Context

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This resource includes background articles on Betty Friedan, Phyllis Schafly, Rachel Carson, Angela Davis, and Ayn Rand.

Global Issues in Context  This database includes primary sources as well as newspapers,  journal articles, statistics,  reference sources and more.

American National Biography  (print) Ref 920 A  

                      

Books in the Edith Hamilton Library

For more books check: 

   

  • Bryn Mawr Library Catalog
  • Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection There are lots of scholarly books and chapters in books on your people in Ebrary. For example, if you search for Russell Kirk, you will find several books written about him. Gilman and RPCS students can access Ebrary on the BMS campus.
  • Google Books
  • Dr. Yeager's personal copies on reserve in the Library.
Call #921 Buckley  Bogus, Carl



 
Soul on fire    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 301.151 C    Cleaver, Eldridge, 1935-
  Published 1978
 
 
 
The Feminine Mystique  
   [ Book ]   Call #: 305.42 F    Friedan, Betty.
  Published 1993
 
 
The John Birch Society.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 329.83 B    Broyles, J. Allen.
  Published 1964
 
 
The house of life: Rachel Carson at work;    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 574.092 B    Brooks, Paul.
  Published 1972
  Interest Level: Young Adult
 
  Who is Angela Davis?
Call# 921 Davis Nadelson, Regina
 
 
 
 
Bearing witness : selections from African-American autobiography in the twentieth century    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920 B    edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
  Published 1991
 
 
Farewell, godspeed : the greatest eulogies of our times    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920 F    edited by Cyrus M. Copeland.
  Published 2003
 
 
The 100 most influential women of all time : a ranking past and present    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 920.72 F    Felder, Deborah G.
  Published 1996
 
 
Rachel Carson, voice for the earth    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 921 Carson    Wadsworth, Ginger.
  Published 1992
 
 
 
 
Life upon these shores : looking at African American history, 1513-2008    
   [ Book ]   Call #: Res 973.0496 G    Gates, Henry Louis.
  Published 2011
 
Pat Robertson : a life and legacy    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 269.2 H    Harrell, David Edwin.
  Published 2010
  Interest Level: Adult
 
 
Pat Robertson : an American life    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 269.2 M    Marley, David John, 1967-
  Published 2007
 
 
The feminine mystique    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 305.42 F    Friedan, Betty.
  Published 2013
  Interest Level: Adult
 
 
The John Birch Society.    
   [ Book ]   Call #: 329.83 B    Broyles, J. Allen.
  Published 1964
 
 
The world of the John Birch Society : conspiracy, conservatism and the Cold War    
   [ Book ]   Call #: RES322.4 M    Mulloy, D. J.
  Published 2014

To Locate Journal Articles

Proquest -is a multidisciplinary resource featuring scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines,  newpapers and other timely sources. It is an excellent place to begin searching for journal articles.

JSTOR-Use the "advanced search" feature to narrow your search to articles. Think about what keyword you can use with your individual's name to narrow your search.

Jstor includes articles  from academic journals, as well as primary sources and books.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers-This is great for finding news  articles from the 1960's.  You can limit by decade.

U.S. History in Context-includes background articles, news and magazine articles, primary sources, audio and video clips.

Primary Sources

Library of Congress This is a great resource for primary sources, especially with its new, improved search engine.

 

Digital Public Library of America 

 

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project

A comprehensive multimedia digital collection and primary source project created to ensure that historical materials related to the United Farmworkers of America (UFW) and the life of Cesar Chavez would be preserved. Photographs, videos, documentaries, oral histories and fulltext of selected books. Searchable and browsable by topics.

Black Panther Party: The UC Berkeley Library Social Activism Sound Recording Project

This Pacifica Radio/UC-Berkeley collaboration seeks to gather, catalog, and make accessible primary source media resources related to social activism and activist movements in California in the 1960's and 1970's; it provides links to key resources and sites with primary sources on the Black Panther Party and more.

 

Bernadine Dohrn Archives | KPFA (The Freedom Archives)

Interview · Barbara Gittings: Founding New York Daughters of Bilitis ...(transcript)

Conservatives

Pat Robertson Interview | Archive of American Television

Conservatism | Hoover Institution

The Russell Kirk Center

The Future of Freedom: The Problems and the Prospects

First National Meeting

February 26-27, 1965

Sheraton-Chicago Hotel

Chicago, Illinois

Includes audio clips from the meeting of both Milton Friedman and Frank Meyer

 

General Sources

Milestone Documents in American History

Global Issues in Context (this database includes primary sources as well as newspapers,  journal articles, statistics,  reference sources and more)

U.S. History in Context

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip