This is the "Home" page of the "The Aztecs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Aztecs  

Dr. Spector-Marks, Ms. Reed
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2016 URL: http://brynmawrschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=702498 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Aztecs

Image result for aztec

 

Getting Started

The Edith Hamilton Library has a good selection of both print and electronic resources for you to use for your Aztec assignment. This guide will help you to get started.  To access the resources from home follow these directions:

         

  • You must first enable access to this service through your Bryn Mawr Google account.  Please click here and check “Turn On."  This is a one-time step and you will not need to do it in the future.
  • Next, simply click any database link here or here.
  • Enter your Bryn Mawr Google account information (ex: HamiltonE@brynmawrschool.org) and click Login.

 

Find Reference Sources

Reference sources frequently provide background information or context for a topic, but they can also direct you to other sources. They can be subject-specific encyclopedias, bibliographies, atlases, chronologies or biographical sources.  Here are some that might be helpful for this assignment:

Print:

Ref 200.3 E 

The Encyclopedia of religion.

Ref 972.01 O vol.1 

The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America. New York: Oxford University 

Look for Books

Books are important because they provide an in-depth treatment of your topic.  You might find find chapters and sections in books that are more general in scope. For example, you might locate a book called The History of the Aztecs. If you look at the Table of Contents and the Index, you might find sections on agriculture,  or human sacrifice.

1. Perform a search in the Edith Hamilton Library Online Catalog to locate books in the Edith Hamilton Library

2. Ebrary Academic e-Book Collection is a large collection of academic books which can be downloaded to your device.

Search the World History in Contex Database

World History in Context Is a database that includes reference articles, primary sources, magazine articles and more.  It can be a great starting point for your research.  For example, if you go to the Aztec page you will find lots of information organized by type.  We will talk in depth about searching in databases when you begin working on your research papers next Spring.

 Have fun, and don't hesitate to ask a Librarian if you need help!

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip