Bryn Mawr School Founders Project: Home

Bryn Mawr School Founders:   Center- Mary Elizabeth Garrett; Clockwise from left - Martha Carey Thomas, Mary Mackall Gwinn, Elizabeth Tabor King, and Julia Rebecca Rogers

Specific Database Articles:

• "The Suffrage Movement." American Eras, Vol. 8, Gale Virtual Reference Library.
• "The Woman's Christian Temperance Union." American Eras, Vol. 8, U.S. History in Context.
• "Women's Suffrage Movement." Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History. U.S. History in Context.
• "Education of Women." American Eras, Vol. 3, U.S. History in Context.
• "Women in Education." American Eras, Vol. 5, U.S. History in Context.
• Mintz, Susan L. et al. "Secondary Education." Encyclopedia of Education, Vol. 6, U.S. History in Context.
• Gutek, Gerald L., et al. "Elementary Education." Encyclopedia of Education. Vol. 2. U.S. History in Context. 

For Further Research:

• U.S. History in Context   (Search the database for articles, images, or video.)
• Gale Virtual Reference Library   (Search the database for encyclopedia articles.)
• Library Catalog   (Search the catalog for books.)

Books 

• Bierne, Rosamund Randall. Let's Pick the Daisies. Baltimore: Bryn Mawr School, 1970.
• DiCataldo, Elizabeth. Ex Solo Ad Solem. Baltimore: The Bryn Mawr School, 2011.
• Fielding, Doris. Edith Hamilton: An Intimate Portrait. New York: W. W. Norton, 1967.
• Finch, Edith. Carey Thomas of Bryn Mawr. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1947.
• Helmes, Winifred G, ed. Notable Maryland Women. Cambridge: Tidewater, 1977.​
• Horowitz, Helen Lefkowitz. The Power and Passion of M. Carey Thomas. New York: Alfred M. Knopt, 1994.
• Sander, Kathleen Waters. Mary Elizabeth Garrett: Society and Philanthropy in the Gilded Age. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins UP, 2008.

Web Sources

• Busey, N. H. “The 'Friday Evening’ Group.” Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives. Johns Hopkins U.

• Jarrett, William H., "Raising the Bar: Mary Elizabeth Garrett, M. Carey Thomas and the Johns Hopkins Medical School." Proceedings of the Baylor University Medical Center. National Center for Biotechnology Information.

• “Elizabeth King Ellicott.” Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame. Maryland State Archives.

• "Martha Carey Thomas." Maryland Women's Hall of Fame. Maryland State Archives. 

• “Hodder Fellowship Benefits Promising Writers.” Princeton University.

• “Julia Rebecca Rogers.” Goucher College.

• "A Biographical Sketch of Mary Elizabeth Garrett." Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives. Johns Hopkins U.

• "Mary Elizabeth Garrett." Philanthropy Hall of Fame. Philanthropy Roundtable
• "Edith Hamilton: A Great Classical Scholar" The Baltimore Literary Heritage Project, U. of Baltimore

Tips for Researching Historical People:

Search Names

A person may use varied names over the course of a lifetime. Keep in mind that each variation can be used as a separate search term. 

It helps to enclose the name in quotations marks.  ex. "Mary Elizabeth Garrett"

• Mary Elizabeth Garrett - Mary Garrett, Mary E. Garrett
• Martha Carey Thomas - M. Carey Thomas, Carey Thomas
• Mary Mackall Gwinn - Mary Gwinn, Mamie Gwinn, Mary Hodder, Mary Mackall Gwinn Hodder, Mrs. Alfred Hodder
• Elizabeth Tabor King- Elizabeth King, Bessie King, Elizabeth King Ellicott, Elizabeth Ellicott, Mrs. William Ellicott, Mrs. William M. Ellicott
• Julia Rogers - Julia Rebecca Rogers, Julia R. Rogers
• Edith Hamilton - no alternative name known, but if you find one, let Ms. Hruban know so she can add it

Keep Birth and Death Dates in Mind

Sometimes there are several people who share a name. Knowing the birth and death dates of the person you are researching, as well as his or her city of residence, can help confirm that the information you find refers to the person you are researching. 

• Mary Elizabeth Garrett (1854-1915)
• M. Carey Thomas (1857-1935)
• Mamie Gwinn (1861 - 1941)
• Bessie King (1858-1914)
• Julia Rogers (1854-1944)
• Edith Hamilton (1867-1963)

Some Places to Look:

• ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Links to an external site.) 

This database contains articles from the New York Times and Baltimore Sun from 1851 to 2001. All of the Founders are mentioned in newspaper articles.

Use their various names as search terms.  You may get different results with each version.  Be sure to put the name in quotation marks. (ex. "Mary Gwinn")

The Brynmawrtyr 1931 -

The 1931 yearbook was produced the year BMS moved from its original building downtown to the present campus. The editors chose to document the history of the school. Of particular interest is the history of the school written by M. Carey Thomas, on p. 85. 

Library of Congress   

Enter a Founder's name in the search box. Be sure to put it in quotation marks. (ex. "Julia Rogers")