These resources will help you become familiar with the thinker you are studying.
Ref 103 E The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Use the index in the last volume to locate a detailed article about the philosopher you are studying as well as other articles that mention him or her. Check the bibliography at the end of the article for sources by and about the philosopher.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Briatannica Academic provides access to reference articles, primary sources, images and videos, and journal articles on topics in any academic discipline.
Provides full-text digital access to reference books in a variety of subjects.
From the publisher: Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
From the publisher: The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work.
Presents reference information and topic guides in World History, along with related news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
A great citation management and note-taking tool. Sign in with your BMS Google account.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by From the publisher: Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Print books in the library collection:
The Age of Enlightenment: Basic Writings. Introd. & Commentary by Isaac Berlin. (190.8 B)
The Age of Reason and the Enlightenment, vol. 34 of European Writers. (Ref 809 E)
Aldington, Voltaire (921 Voltaire)
Ayers, Michael. Locke. (192 AE)
Barzun, Jacques, From Dawn to Decadence: 1500 to present ( See The "The Encyclopedic Century")
Collins, John Churton. Voltaire, Montesquieu and Rousseau in England. Ebook published first in 1908.
Conroy, Peter V. JeanJacques Rousseau (848.509 R) [Read Chapter Six on Emile]
Cousins, Norman In God We Trust (973.4C)
Damrosch, Leo, Jean-Jacques Rousseau (921 Rousseau)
Diderot, Denis. Encyclopedia. Selections. (034.1 D) Excellent introduction; includes important selections from the multivolume original.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (Ref 940.25 W)
The Enlightenment. (Vol 5 of The Spirit of Western Civilization) (190 C)
Enlightenment Portraits. (944.034 E) See section on "The Man of Letters" for background and information on salons.
Events That Changed the World in the Eighteenth Century (909.7 E)
Ferguson, Moira and Janet Todd. Mary Wollstonecraft. (828.6 W) See Chapter 2: Early Writings on Education.
Fleming, Thomas Liberty: The American Revolution ( 973.3F)
Foley, Duncan, Adam's fallacy : a guide to economic theology (330.153)
Gay, Peter L. Age of Enlightenment (TimeLife series on the Great Ages of Man) (940.253 G)
__________. The Enlightenment. (190 G v.12)
Gay, Peter, ed. John Locke on Education. (370 L )
__________. The Party of Humanity. (194 G)
Gray, John. Voltaire. (194 G)
Grayling, A.C. Descartes : the life and times of a genius (921 Descartes )
Great Books of the Western World, v. 38: Montesquieu; Rousseau. See Montesquieu's Spirit of the Laws, Bk. IV. That the
Laws of Education Ought to be in Relation to the Principles of Government. (082 G)
Hendel, Charles. Hume Selections.(192 H)
Ingersoll, Robert Green. On Diderot. Etext Note: Ingersoll was a very famous radical atheist of the nineteenth century.
Jenson, Merrill, Founding of a Nation (973.27 J)
Kimball, Marie. Jefferson : the Scene of Europe, 17841789. (921 Jefferson)
___________. The Road to Glory, 17431776. (921 Jefferson )
Locke, John. The Second Treatise of Government. (192 L) See the introduction especially.
Mack, Maynard, Alexander Pope:A Life (921 Pope)
Maier, Pauline From Resistance to Revolution (973.27M)
Malone, Dumas. Jefferson and His Time : The Sage of Monticello. (921 Jefferson v.6)
Maurois, Andre', Voltaire (921 Voltaire)
McCullough, David, 1776 (973.3M)
Macfarlane, Alan, The riddle of the modern world : of liberty, wealth and equality (303.401 M)
Miller, Calvin Craig. Mary Wollstonecraft and the Rights of Women. (921 Wollstonecraft) an anecdotal biography.
The New Cambridge Modern History, v.7, The Old Regime 171363 and v.8, The American and French Revolutions,
176393. (Ref 909 N)
Norton and Popkin. David Hume Philosophical Historian. (192 H).
Outram, Dorinda. The Enlightenment. (190 O) See pages on Salons.
Rousseau, JeanJacques. Emile. (844 R)
Snyder, Louis L. Age of Reason. (940.25 S)
