Consult reference sources to get background information, identify keywords and names and establish context. Search broadly using the field in which you are interested and Inter-War Period, modernism, modernists, etc. For example:
[(film OR cinema) AND (inter-war OR modernis*)]
Consult timelines and chronologies to identify names and establish context. Here are two from our collection:
Timelines of the 20th Century: a Chronology of Over 7500 Key Events, Works, Discoveries, and People that Shaped our Century by 
Important tip: keep a running list of keywords and names that you can use to broaden or narrow your search results. You will have to think creatively about where and how to locate information for this paper.
Reference sources can provide background information or context for a topic. They can be subject-specific encyclopedias, atlases, chronologies or biographical sources. They are useful for building background knowledge and vocabulary about your topic.
Briatannica Academic provides access to reference articles, primary sources, images and videos, and journal articles on topics in any academic discipline.
Provides full-text digital access to reference books in a variety of subjects.
Oxford Art Online provides reference articles and images for studying art, artists, and art history.
From the publisher: The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work.
From the publisher: The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Presents reference information and topic guides in World History, along with related news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
Search the catalog for print reference sources in our collection.
