Reference sources frequently provide background information or context for a topic, and they can also direct you to other sources. They can be subject-specific encyclopedias, bibliographies, chronologies or biographical sources.
Briatannica Academic provides access to reference articles, primary sources, images and videos, and journal articles on topics in any academic discipline.
Provides full-text digital access to reference books in a variety of subjects.
Oxford Art Online provides reference articles and images for studying art, artists, and art history.
From the publisher: The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work.
From the publisher: The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Includes Defining Documents, The Decades in America, Milestone Documents in American History, Opinions Throughout History, Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, and more.
Presents reference information and topic guides in U.S. History, along with related news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
Presents reference information and topic guides in World History, along with related news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
Books are important because they provide an in-depth treatment of your topic. To find books in the Edith Hamilton Library, search our library catalog using terms related to your topic. You can use reference sources (see left) to discover new key terms and synonyms. If your first search doesn't retrieve useful results, try broadening your terms and search again, use the "power search" feature, or consult a librarian for help!
From the publisher: Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.