A great citation management and note-taking tool. Sign in with your BMS Google account.
Books are important because they provide an in-depth treatment of your topic. To find books in the Edith Hamilton Library, search our library catalog using terms related to your topic. You can use reference sources (see left) to discover new key terms and synonyms. If your first search doesn't retrieve useful results, try broadening your terms and search again, use the "power search" feature, or consult a librarian for help!
From the publisher: Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Accessible Archives contains digitized primary sources for studying U.S. history.
Includes Defining Documents, The Decades in America, Milestone Documents in American History, Opinions Throughout History, Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, and more.
Presents reference information and topic guides in U.S. History, along with related news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
Presents reference information and topic guides in World History, along with related news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
Provides access to an archive of five American newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, The Chicago Defender, The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles TImes, and The New York TImes.
Includes Defining Documents, The Decades in America, Milestone Documents in American History, Opinions Throughout History, Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, and more.
Scholarly articles may help you in the same way that books might, but they are generally shorter with a much narrower focus. While many books are written for a general audience of readers, scholarly articles are written for scholars and professionals - that means, they might be a little hard to understand! Don't be discouraged - these writers have been at this a lot longer than you have. Give them a try!
From the publisher: ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
JSTOR provides access to a vast archive of scholarly work in all disciplines.